Big Island Districts

We salute the makers of Hawaiʻi Island's six traditional moku (districts).

Island of Inspiration

Ancient Hawaiians divided Hawai’i Island into six unique moku, or zonesHilo, Hāmākua, Kohala, Kona, Kaʻū, and Puna—honoring their distinctive geography, climate, and ruling aliʻi (chiefs). Today we’re proud to feature and celebrate the talented makers and local retailers fortunate enough to call home these sacred, magnificent places.


Inspired by emerald forests, roaring waterfalls, and the fertile valleys of the windward coast.


Inspired by cool rain, magnificent bay views, and the power and enchantment of hula.


Inspired by fiery lava flows, black sand beaches, and the cloud forest song of the ʻiʻiwi.


Inspired by sun-drenched shores, windswept pastures, and cold mountain air—this is Paniolo Country!


Inspired by picturesque fishing villages, golden sunsets, and the aroma of roasting coffee.


Inspired by resilient communities, free spirits, and the mana of ever-evolving landscapes.

"For me, Hawaiʻi's balmy airs are always blowing, its summer seas flashing in the sun; the pulsing of it surfbeat is in my ear; I can see its garland crags, its leaping cascades, its plumy palms drowsing by the shore, its remote summits floating like islands above the clouds... in my nostrils still lives the breath of flowers that perished twenty years ago."
Mark Twain

Featured Sponsor

Banner Ad for The Locavore Store